Belated intro – Monica

I migrated to Australia 15 years ago, received my education here from the second half of grade six through to the end of my first degree. As previously discussed in class, my main intention of returning to Uni after a 4 year break is really just to find a sense of purpose. That being said, I’m not about to become an activist with someone else’ values leading the way. I reject the idea of following someone else’ moral standards and detest anyone’s attempt at making me “join the club”.

I am not unfeeling, I simply do not see the point of a discussion that neither solves the problem nor help it progress from point A to B. Of all the “young people our age” that took their emotional response to the street, how many actually gave their actions a thorough thought? I’m simply numb towards such mindless attempts at demonstrating one’s morality and self-righteousness. I won’t take part of something that is no more affective on addressing the problem then simply letting it be. I don’t see this as pessimistic thinking or selfishness, it’s a sense of clarity, that the physical demonstration of one’s emotional response to an issue is very short sighted. The problems need to be addressed strategically, systematically and creatively of course.

The whole reason I chose this course was to find out how, through employing design techniques I can attempt to curb human behavior. Making a fuss through rallying is not going to help with any issue. We cannot play gods nor force entities bigger than ourselves to change their decisions, without resources. The work needs to be carried out through the subconscious. The human mind is a paradox in its own right. It resists change at the same time it also craves adventure. My aim through this course is to learn how, as a designer I can influence human behavior and consequently find better ways at connecting people through the subconscious, via common platforms, where a greater collective can be achieved.

Perhaps in short I want to learn the craft of mind controlling of the masses!

Leave a Reply

