Giving Up (Update)

It’s been really difficult. Giving up the two main supermarkets chains has caused me to have to really think ahead and plan my weekly shops. I have tried to make at least two farmers markets a month to stock up on fresh produce. Whilst they products do taste great and give me a good feeling of helping local growers, the produce does not last as long as those that contain preservatives. Also, they local crops are more expensive, some times double the price of those in the supermakets. This is to do with big buying power though, not profit grabbing farmers. I would say that the feeling of purchasing from independent local growers is worth all of the negative points discussed above. This process of giving up has caused a change in my mindset and is making me more aware of processes and actors that i was oblivious to before. The challenge continues…

Leave a Reply

