Giving Up Disposables: Reflection & Facts

I have just learnt that 88% of people think that food packaging is a bigger or equal issue to food waste. But food waste produces 166,000,000 tonnes of carbon dioxide emmissions , while food packaging produces 10.8 million tonnes of co2.

This was very interesting to me, as it made me realise that while giving up disposable food packaging and utensils/plates to consume the food, perhaps I am not addressing the bigger problem with the larger impacts – food waste.

I am not one to waste food, I will always eat what’s on my plate and eat the leftovers until mum throws them out because it’s too old, but I haven’t ever noticed how much food my mum does actually throw out. I will start to now to see if I can be more active towards this issue.

$8 billion worth of food every year is thrown out by Australians – that’s 4 million tonnes.

If we all stop wasting food that could have been eaten, the benefit to the planet would be the equivalent of taking1 in 5 cars off the road!!!

Cooking too much food, not utilizing leftovers, eating out or buying takeaway instead of eating the food at home, not sticking to shopping list when at supermarket, are reasons for this food waste problem.

How often do you throw food out or do any of the above? Maybe we should all think about this!

References:

http://england.lovefoodhatewaste.com/content/naked-truth-about-how-packaging-can-help-you-waste-less-food

http://england.lovefoodhatewaste.com/content/facts-about-food-waste-1

http://foodwise.com.au/food-waste/food-waste-an-overview/

Leave a Reply

