Giving Up Disposable Products: Issues Encountered

My ‘giving up’ of disposable products was tricky today, for a couple of reasons.

 

It started when I decided to make my own sandwich at home to prevent having to buy a plastic package of sushi in the city/use a disposable plate for a rice dish/get a spinach roll in a paper bag. And then I realised…….. I had to wrap this sandwich in Glad Wrap to keep it clean in my bag. I figured there’s less resource waste in Glad Wrap than any of the previously mentioned items. I tried to use the absolute minimum amount of Glad Wrap, but it unravelled during the day and honey spread all in my lunchbox. 

Luckily the salad in my reusable plastic tub didn’t cause me any trouble or waste any resources (expect I guess the water that I’ll need when I wash it [and all the honey off it] tonight)

 

The second problem I encountered, was after class when my friend and I passed a Boost Juice bar.                                                                                                                                                  “Do you want to get a Boost?” they asked, and I had to explain that I couldn’t because of this project but I’d watch them drink theirs, haha. It then got me quite confused… where do all of these Boost cups go? Let’s say 3,000(?) Boost juices are bought every day around the whole world. 3,000 x 30 days is 90,000 cups a month.. 90,000 cups x 12 months = 1,080,000 cups per year.  Since 2002 when Boost started that means 10,800,000 cups have been used. WHAAATTTT ARE ALL THESE CUPS DOING NOW SEEING AS POST CONSUMER FOODSERVICE POLYSTYRENE DOESN’T ACTUALLY GET RECYCLED? I feel like turning it into a statistic makes it really bland and makes us disconnect, but try to imagine the weight of over ten million cups, the space it takes up, the resources and transport and everything!!                                                                                                                         We walked down to the platform at Melbourne Central Station and I noticed all these Boost cups abandoned on the floor after 10 minutes of use and it was quite terrible, and it made me feel a bit better about denying my desires and refusing to get a Boost.                                                        I’ve been pondering purchasing a reusable Boost mug, or ask whether they’d fill any reusable vessel that I brought in. 

I guess to give up disposable products, you must initially get prepared with sustainable solutions to switch to, and perhaps do you just have to pick the lesser of two evils, in this case glad wrap over a plastic sushi container?

Leave a Reply

