A Week without Coffee

It’s been a week since my group and I decided to boycott coffee completely – a week since I’ve had my caffeine fix. And honestly, it’s been tough. Before last week, I could easily have 1 or 2 cups of coffee everyday. I was slowly becoming a coffee addict. This past week has been challenging, especially when passing by the numerous coffee shops around the city.

 

I know there are other sources of caffeine, like soda, but I’ve just grown accustomed to a cup of coffee. Before moving to Melbourne, I would hardly ever have coffee. It was only here, where I learned to drink it. There’s something special about a warm cappuccino – it’s soothing.

I didn’t notice how my coffee rations steadily increased. I didn’t notice my dependence on it. I needed coffee to get me up in the mornings. I didn’t notice it taking hold of me as an addiction.

Giving up coffee has be tough, but I know it’s worth it. It’s not just helping me overcome my addiction, but it’s helping raise awareness of unethical practices behind most coffee productions. It’s showing others that I can give things up for a better cause, especially when the cause is helping others.

Leave a Reply

