It’s been challenging me

I’m going to be honest, going into this studies I had no idea what I’d be getting into. I simply had no idea what design advocacy/activism/agency meant. But over the past weeks, the class has been challenging me to find out what I believe in and how I can make a difference in my community and in the world.

I have learned that design activism isn’t limited to one category, but can be applied to practically everything. I’ve learned more about understanding and expressing how I feel. It’s been challenging, but this course has been allowing me to develop a passion and a longing to change the world, finding justice and the right balance of things. It’s been challenging me to care for causes much greater than myself, whether it’s for those who are handicapped, the effect we have on nature, human trafficking, injustice, or even the corrupted distribution of food around the globe.

There are many situations around the world we can be concerned about, but many times we choose to turn a blind eye, harden our hearts, and simply toss it away as someone else’s problem. But that’s not how it should be. This course has been challenging me I be a global citizen by opening my heart and caring for causes that I have been ignoring for so long.

The challenge is to make a change – in the lives of people around us, the environment we live in, and the problems that are so real. The challenge is to become a global citizen.

Sincerely,
Jess

Leave a Reply

